SINGAPORE GOVERNMENT STATEMENT

GENERAL ELECTION

1 NOMINATION DAY

Nomination Day will be on Thursday, 25th October 2001.

2 NOMINATION CENTRES

Nomination Centres are as follows:

	Places of Nomination (Nomination Centres)	Electoral Divisions
1.	Fuhua Primary School Jurong East Street 13 Singapore 609647	Bukit Timah Hong Kah Jurong
2.	Kent Ridge Secondary School Jubilee Road Singapore 128575	Ayer Rajah West Coast
3.	West View Primary School Senja Road Singapore 677742	Chua Chu Kang Holland-Bukit Panjang
4.	Greenwood Primary School Woodlands Drive 62 Singapore 737942	Nee Soon Central Nee Soon East Sembawang
5.	Singapore Conference Hall Shenton Way Singapore 068810	Jalan Besar Tanjong Pagar
6.	Townsville Primary School Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10 Singapore 569730	Ang Mo Kio Bishan-Toa Payoh
7.	Temasek Primary School	East Coast

Joo Chiat

Bedok South Avenue 3

Singapore 469300

Places of Nomination (Nomination Centres)

Electoral Divisions

8. White Sands Primary School

Pasir Ris Street 11 Singapore 519075 Hougang Pasir Ris-Punggol

9. Ngee Ann Primary School

Marine Terrace Singapore 449149 MacPherson Marine Parade Potong Pasir

10. Poi Ching School Tampines Street 71 Singapore 529067 Aljunied Tampines

3 RETURNING OFFICER

For the General Election, the Prime Minister has appointed Mr Tan Boon Huat, 1 Deputy Secretary of the Ministry of Home Affairs as the Returning Officer.

The Returning Officer has declared that Saturday, 3rd November 2001 is Polling Day. Polling Day is a public holiday.

4 DEPOSIT BY CANDIDATE

According to the Parliamentary Elections Act, the deposit per candidate is 8% of the total allowances payable to an MP in the preceding year and rounded to the nearest \$500.00. The deposit for a candidate shall, therefore, be \$13,000.00.

5 <u>MALAY COMMUNITY AND INDIAN AND OTHER MINORITY</u> <u>COMMUNITIES COMMITTEES</u>

The Parliamentary Elections (Malay Community Committee) Regulations, 1988 and the Parliamentary Elections (Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee) Regulations, 1988 stipulate that every applicant shall ensure his application for the Certificate of the Malay Community Committee or Certificate of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee under regulation 9 is received by the Committee not later than 2 clear days before the day of Nomination.

Nomination Day is 25th October 2001. Therefore, all applications must be submitted to the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 4.00 pm on Monday, 22nd October 2001.

Members of the Malay Community Committee are:

- 1) Tuan Haji Muhammad Ariff Ahmad (Chairman)
- 2) Tuan Haji Ridzwan Dzafir
- 3) Tuan Haji Shafawi Ahmad
- 4) Tuan Abu Bakar Maidin
- 5) Tuan Wan Hussin Zoohri

Members of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee are:

- 1) Dr A Vijiaratnam (Chairman)
- 2) Mr Gopinath Pillai
- 3) Mr Rudolph William Mosbergen
- 4) Mr Francis J D'costa
- 5) Mr Kirpa Ram Vij

6 POLITICAL DONATION CERTIFICATE

Every candidate shall submit, together with his nomination paper and other necessary documents, a Political Donation Certificate issued by the Registrar of Political Donations under section 18(4) of the Political Donations Act. Application for the Certificate shall be made by submitting, in person or through an authorised representative, a pre-election donation report (Form 3) and a pre-election declaration (Form 4) to the Registrar of Political Donations at his office at the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 4.00 pm on 22nd October 2001.

For further information, please visit the website of the Registry of Political Donations at www.rpd.sg.

PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE 18 October 2001